>Cupcakes

> I never bake. Ever. It is probably for the best, as both of us are diabetic but sometimes you need a little extra sweet in your life.

Cupcakes are super trendy right now (and I’m not one for trends), but for a novice/lazy baker like me they do have their advantages – I don’t have a cake plate, I’ve never been able to get a cake to look pretty, and they already come portioned out for you.

I made a yellow box cake mix with chocolate frosting. They turned out super light and the cupcake was good even without the frosting, not that I’d eat them that way! After I was done, I thought about making cupcakes from scratch next time. I’m not sure I’m ambitious enough to try the strawberry mint cupcakes pictured above, but here are some that I’m thinking about trying.

At a work potluck I had a pink lemonade cupcake and it was probably one of the best cakes I’ve ever had. The cakes were lemon filled with lemon custard and topped with lemon flavored icing colored with a little food coloring. I have found a recipe using regular boxed cake mix and pink lemonade concentrate. I love love love lemon and can’t wait for a reason to make these.


Who doesn’t love red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting? Hell, I’d eat a frog if it was topped with cream cheese frosting. Not sure how I feel about a raspberry topper, but I can get behind the nuts. Looks perfect for a Valentine’s Day surprise for my honey.

This is a pineapple cupcake with pineapple cream cheese frosting, topped with toasted coconut. I think they put a bit too much frosting on the cake (can’t believe I said that). Daniel wasn’t so sure about the flavors at first, but I can always take the extras to work if they turn out too sweet.


I thought these were pretty cute – of course if I made them they would have to be either Florida Gator orange and blue or Chicago Bears blue and orange!

This entry was posted in baking, bears, gators, sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

